My Corner… My View of the World…

Do you ever wonder what your teacher’s house looks like?  When I was in 1st grade I through my teacher lived at school and slept on the tables.  I thought I would share my favorite corner with my view of the world…

Last Thursday we had a snow day and it was a perfect day.  No place to go and nothing I HAD to do… except read.  A day for me to snuggle into my corner in my comfortable gray chair, put my feet up and read the day away. I brewed a pot of very strong coffee and poured it into my favorite purplish-blue mug given to me by a student several years ago.  I had Molly curled at my feet and my fuzzy blanket to keep me warm.

I propped my current book, The Guinevere Deception, on to my lap desk and traveled off to Camelot the land of the fictional realm of King Arthur and his court.  The lap desk with yellow flowered fabric is old and not my style but it is a relic from when I was in high school that has traveled with me to every home I have lived in. It is a launching pad for stories I have both read and written through letters and journal entries.

From my gray chair I have traveled the world through books.  In the past week I have not only been to Camelot. I have also been on a sled dog race through Canada, in the Polish ghetto during World War II, I have been on a remote island with strange creatures, lost on a mountain in upstate New York, running through woods searching for a meteor while evading a band of criminals and I have dealt with the trials of being in middle school.  So much happens in my imagination while I turn the pages of my current book.

But, I also get to look out the front window and watch life in my little neighborhood go by.  I see my neighbors walking their dogs.  The kids on my street run back and forth rolling in the snow banks.  I also monitor the weather so I know when it is time to get out and start snow blowing or get out and take Molly for a walk.  On a nice day, the sun comes in and warms my body and spirit.

This is truly my favorite place.  Well… until the weather turns warm and I bring out my deck furniture.  Then, all of my writing, reading and imaginative travel operations shift outside and is accompanied by the chirping of birds and the scurry of squirrels.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Corner… My View of the World…”

  1. Mrs. Marc Aurele why are you not at school today?
    I loved your story about your reading adventures!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  2. I love being able to travel to different worlds and lands through books…that to me is the sheer magic of reading

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *